Call for Papers: MTSMA 2024

The Music Theory Society of the Mid-Atlantic Twenty-Second Annual Meeting

Christopher Newport University

Newport News, VA

March 15–16, 2024

The Music Theory Society of the Mid-Atlantic is excited to announce a call for papers for its next annual meeting, which will take place on March 15–16, 2024, at Christopher Newport University.

Submission Procedure and Deadline

  • Proposals should be submitted online by 11:59pm on December 18, 2023.
  • The submission portal will request the following information:
    • Your name (as you’d like to appear on the program)
    • Email address
    • Institutional affiliation (if applicable)
    • Paper title
    • Proposal (see rules below)
    • A 200–250 word abstract, suitable for publication
    • Paper length (twenty-minute talk, ten-minute lightning talk, or either)
    • Student status (for Dorothy Payne Award)
  • Applicants will be notified of the committee’s decision by January 31, 2024.

Rules for Proposals

  • Proposals are limited to 500 words and no more than two pages of text.
  • Proposals should be double-spaced in a 10- to 12-point font, followed by up to four pages of examples and references (not included in the word or limit).
  • The proposal must be submitted as a single PDF document. 
  • No information that identifies the author(s) or their institutional affiliation should appear in the proposal or abstract (including the filename). The program committee will review proposals anonymously.
  • No more than two proposals per person will be considered, with the understanding that only one, if any, will be accepted. Co-authored talks will count as a second proposal. 

Dorothy Payne Award

The Dorothy Payne Award is given each year for the best student paper.

For the purposes of this award, student status ends with the receipt of a terminal degree or employment in a full-time position.

Previous winners of the Dorothy Payne Award are not eligible.

Keynote Speaker and Workshop Leader

Dr. Alexander Rehding (Harvard University) will give the keynote address, and will conduct a professional development workshop. All conference attendees (students and faculty) are encouraged to attend these events, and no application is necessary for workshop participation beyond conference registration.  

Program Committee

  • Rosa Abrahams, chair (Ursinus College)
  • Stefan Greenfield-Casas (University of Richmond)
  • Kimberly Goddard Loeffert (Virginia Tech)
  • Edward Latham (Temple University)
  • Fred Maus (University of Virginia)

Local Arrangements

Chelsey Hamm (Christopher Newport University)

Questions should be addressed to Rosa Abrahams, Program Committee Chair

Last updated

All Conferences